Steeking Sunday! 

Today was the first day this week where I did not had anything planned. So when I went to bed last night I switched off my alarm and hopes to sleep long and tight. Of corse I woke up at around six the first time and then around nine, I couldn’t sleep anymore. 

So I was not sure what to do with this Sunday. It was a lovely day and I don’t want to go to a fleamarket as not buying anything is kind of depressing sometimes. There is just no point in acquiring more stuff as I’m moving overseas in 92 (!!!) days. 

So I overcame my fear and decides to finally do the steeking in two projects. The Loki jumper to turn into a cardigan and a blanked knitted in the round. The first one is knitted in lett lopi, a really nice low processed yarn from Iceland, perfect for steeking and the blanket in different types of cotton. When I first came to the point where the steek would have been necessary in my blanket, I started reading and so many places suggested not to steek cotton as it doesn’t felt. Bummer I thought and put the blanket in a bag and on the bottom of my closet. It was there for many months! And then I knit the Loki cardigan. And then put it aside for quite a bit because of the steek. Last week I was talking on ravelry with Mina about steeking and she said talked about a tutorial about steeking cotton. While I never found the one she was talking about, I did find others and so the steeking bee stung me and I got my sewing machine out! 

I first started with the Loki, as it is smaller and the perfect wool for steeking. It worked perfectly but I would have hoped to have knit the steek some stitches wider, the pattern asked for three stitches, five would have been better I think. 

And then I just continued with the blanket. The pattern said to sew each row three times but I only did it once each. And then I cut. And it worked fine too. 

So now I only have to decide on weather a button band or a zipper for the cardigan and to knit the border around the blanket and attach a fabric on the back to protect the blanket a bit more, all those floats… 

   

     

4 thoughts on “Steeking Sunday! 

Leave a Reply

